Earlier this month, we discussed what workers’ compensation laws do to assist healthcare workers diagnosed with COVID-19. Healthcare workers are the heroes on the frontline of this pandemic. However, there’s a second group of workers who are facing risks every day to make sure Americans are receiving the goods and services that they need: essential workers.
Is Workers’ Compensation Available to Essential Workers Diagnosed with COVID-19?
According to Pennsylvania’s Office of Unemployment Compensation, a worker who becomes ill from COVID-19 (and misses more than a week of work) can file a workers’ compensation claim with their employer. Just as with any other work-related injury, workers should report their sickness within 21 days to their supervisor or employer.
After a worker reports their COVID-19 illness as a work-related injury, employers must report it instantly to their workers’ compensation insurance company. From here, the insurer has 21 days to accept or deny the claim.
Accepted worker’s compensation claims will provide:
- 2/3 of a worker’s average weekly compensation
- 100% of medical expenses related to the injury
What If My COVID-19 Workers’ Compensation Claim Is Denied
If you believe you contracted COVID-19 from a sick coworker or from being in contact with infected customers, you should speak with a workers’ compensation lawyer from Handler, Henning & Rosenberg LLC. Ultimately, the insurance company will approve or deny your claim. If they don’t think you have a strong claim, they’ll deny it to save money. Speaking with an attorney will put a person in your corner who understands how insurers work and who will help you fight for the compensation you deserve. No one deserves to lose their income because they were fulfilling their duty as an essential worker during the pandemic.Call us now at (888) 498-3023 or fill out our online form to speak with our Pennsylvania workers’ compensation attorneys. Our firm is still 100% active and helping clients during this difficult time.